ACRE Artist Residency Award for 2014 Summer

photo-main

Noelle Garcia is pleased to announce she has been awarded a 2 week Artist Residency at ACRE (Artists’ Cooperative Residency and Exhibitions). ACRE is a volunteer run non-profit organization based in Chicago. Every summer ACRE offers numerous Artist Residencies in Steuben, WI designed to support and nurture emerging artists.

 

“I am a multidisciplinary artist and my studio practice focuses on identity, relationships and the Native American experience. I have been estranged from my tribe since my father (through whom i claim my tribal status) was imprisoned for murder. Without my dad I find myself constructing who my dad was and what my culture is. I am interested in the concept that all of my artwork is authentically Indian merely because I am a documented American Indian enrolled in a tribe.

Through this residency I would like to make a collection of beaded “paintings” and mixed media paintings. I am concerned about the relationship of painting and multimedia in my practice. Through this project I would create a bridge and better understand how they relate to each other.

The beaded paintings would be made from pre-drawn patterns that are then woven on a beading loom with glass beads. I would create paintings combining beads, glue, buckskin and acrylic paints. With these paintings I will play with the illusion of depth and texture, and actual depth and texture. The imagery in these paintings will reference personal photographs of my father and my estranged family.”

 

Noelle has initiated an Indiegogo campaign in order to raise funds for residency fees, travel and supplies.

Backers will receive the following incentives:

$25 – Sometimes I am Sad Coloring Book Coloring book includes 8 pages on various thoughts of suicide.

$100 – Watercolor and Ink Drawing   (This is an example, All drawings will be unique) Approximate size will be 14″x11 on various types of paper. Paintings will be slightly abstracted figures and studies of dogs.

$ 1000 – Customized Moccasins   (This is an example image. All moccasins will be unique) Moccasins styles can be Reebok, Converse or traditional moccasin. Moccasins will consist of buck skin, rabbit fur and beads. In addition to providing address, you will need to provide style preferences and shoe size.

 

One of multiple unique paintings make with watercolor and ink.

One of multiple unique paintings make with watercolor and ink.

Men's size 11 mocassins in Reebok style

Men’s size 11 mocassins in Reebok style

8 page coloring book about my thoughts on suicide

8 page coloring book about my thoughts on suicide

 

Contribute now: https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/2014-acre-artist-residency/x/7634014

Leave a Reply

